LexisNexis

Company information and financial performance measures in the Company Dossier module. Primary source legal material (accessible only in the library) includes law review articles, case law, and regulations. Funding provided by Berchem, Moses & Devlin, P. C., Attorneys at Law, Westport & Milford.

Powersearch

Not sure what you’ll find in a particular database? PowerSearch makes it easy for you to select the database appropriate for your search by providing an alphabetical listing of databases. This search platform provides access to iConn’s collection of articles from magazines, newspapers, academic journals, and trade publications.


BIOGRAPHY

Biography Resource Center

Includes brief biographies and magazine articles of noteworthy individuals from antiquity to the present, with links to related full-text articles.


Discovering Collection

Biographies, essays, images, and timelines.


BOOKS, LITERATURE & READING

Books & Authors

Looking for a good book, but not sure where to start? WHO WHAT WHERE WHEN lets you browse by Character, Subject, Location and Time Period, and get a visual representation of your matching books.


Literature Resource Center

Includes author biographies and literary criticism with a reader’s advisory service.


BUSINESS, FINANCE & LEGAL

Business Insights: Essentials

Company profiles, industry rankings, products and brands, stock prices, investment reports, and industry statistics.


LegalTrac

Articles from major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals, and international legal journals.


LexisNexis

Company information and financial performance measures in the Company Dossier module. Primary source legal material (accessible only in the library) includes law review articles, case law, and regulations. Funding provided by Berchem, Moses & Devlin, P. C., Attorneys at Law, Westport & Milford.


Morningstar Investment Research Center

Comprehensive financial information and analysts' opinions to help you make informed investing decisions for stocks, mutual funds and Exchange Traded Funds. Create your own customized list of potential investments by entering your parameters, find return information on various investment indexes, types, and sectors, and use their Portfolio X-ray to determine what your asset mix should be and how your investments are working together.


Plunkett Research

Enables you to see the most important trends and technologies creating change within an industry today by showing statistics, market figures and forecasts. You can identify an industry's leading companies, and compare vital company statistics, growth plans, financials and executives. Use Build-A-Report to select your custom industry data and create an executive report in PDF format.


ReferenceUSA

A directory of more than 14 million businesses in the U.S. that can be sorted by geography, size, type of business, and other criteria.


GENEALOGY

Ancestry Library

This premier genealogical tool contains a massive amount of data from census and voter lists; birth, marriage, and death records; and military and travel records. Build your family tree and share it with others, invite them to contribute information.


Heritage Quest Online

Information on people and places described in more than 25,000 family and local histories. Includes U.S. Federal Census Records from 1790-1930.


GENERAL RESOURCES

Academic OneFile

Peer-reviewed articles from leading journals and references sources offering extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, literature, and other subjects.


Consumer Reports

Ratings and recommendations on thousands of products and services in categories including appliances, cars, electronics and computers, home and garden, health and fitness, food, personal finance and travel.


Gale Virtual Reference Library

Encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference materials for multidisciplinary research.


General Reference Center Gold

Multi-source general interest reference tool


Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

This online library of current topics features the facts of today’s important topics, as well as the arguments from the issue’s proponents and detractors.


Oxford English Dictionary

Widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language, it is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words - past and present - from across the English speaking world.


GRANTS & FOUNDATIONS

Foundation Directory Online Professional

This premier Foundation Center service provides an efficient way for nonprofit fundraisers to identify potential funding sources. Search among foundations, corporate fund sources, grant recipients and foundations' IRS form 990 tax returns.


Foundation Grants to Individuals Online

Provides information on more than 6,000 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grant seekers.
A Foundation Center service.


Philanthropy In/Sight

This Foundation Center interactive mapping tool was designed for grantmakers, advisors, policymakers, researchers and academics. Grantseekers can use Philanthropy In/Sight to gather intelligence to craft compelling grant proposals. Customization options enable users to create maps that reveal patterns of giving and funding relationships. Users can overlay grant data with their choice of over 150 demographic, socio-economic, and other data sets to create visual portraits showing where philanthropy has made an impact and where opportunities exist to fill critical needs.


HEALTH & SCIENCE

AccessScience

This online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology gathers, synthesizes and organizes vast amounts of information for fast, easy and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology. Included are research updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science & Technology, 110,000+ definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific Biography illustrations and graphics, content contributed by more than 5000 researchers, and updates of scientific and technical news.


Consumer Report Card on Health Insurance Carriers in Connecticut

Data and analysis the state's insurance carriers


Health & Wellness Resource Center

Provides medical information for health professionals and general readers.


Science Resource Center

An in-depth, curriculum-oriented database that provides a one-stop resource for science-related research needs.


HISTORY

History Resource Center: U.S.

A diverse, electronic multidimensional collection of full-text periodicals, multimedia reference articles, synopses and facsimiles of historical documents. Provides a complete overview of U.S. history covering the most –studied events, issues and current information.


History Resource Center: World

Combines a comprehensive and unique global collection of resources with easy-to-use search functionality supporting undergraduate and high school research and curriculums.


ICONN

iCONN

Information for homework assignments, consumer health and wellness, business and reader advisory, magazines and newspapers.


JOBS

Career Cruising

Looking for career ideas and information? Begin with the Career Cruising database, a comprehensive career guide where you can explore various job opportunities, learn about education and training requirements, salary ranges, detailed profiles about careers, and other helpful tips.


JobNow!

Expert resume assistance, live interview coaching and tips and resources to help start your job search.


MUSIC

Oxford Music Online

Access to the 29-volume set that surveys music from classical to zydeco.


NEWSPAPERS

Hartford Courant

Full-text articles from 1992 to present


Historical Hartford Courant

Digital archive available from 1774 to 1922


The New York Times

Full-text articles from 1985 to present


The Times (London)

Full-text articles from 1985 to present


Wall Street Journal

Full-text articles from 1984 to present


Westport News

Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and much more from current and archived issues of Westport News. Updated daily, it includes obituaries, editorials, announcements, sports, real estate and other sections. In addition to the newspaper, you may also view articles from publications including Foreign Affairs, Newsweek, Popular Science, Slate, and others.